The life of a student foodie

Posted on Updated on

When people think good food, they don’t tend to identify it with students, who typically eat packet noodles and Junk food. That isn’t me unfortunately, I say unfortunately because I like good quality and expensive food, I shop in waitrose and it doesn’t help that I also work there part-time and seen as i’m a poor student it doesn’t exactly fit with my lifestyle.

So as I start back at university for my second year my goal is to try and cut down on the food I buy, not the intake but maybe downgrading supermarkets, this makes me very sad. I’ll still have to visit waitrose for my Cawston press juice (apple and elderflower, its so good you have yo try it!) and the odd product, but generally try and buy cheaper foods.

Untitled

Here’s some tips for people who enjoy good food on a low budget:

  • Visit food festivals and markets- Though this isn’t the cheapest way to buy food,  you can get lots of great free tasters from meat and cakes to alcohol! plus  you can always try and haggle the prices.
  • Look out for independent shops that offer student discount- Unfortunately this one only applies to students, but a lot of independent shops offer discount or things along the line. A local bakery of mine in Bath, which is across the road from me offers student discount after 4pm, so I can go and grab some cheap cakes and bread. Not only that, many restaurants also offer discount for students.
  • Graze box– It’s only £3.89 per box, which you can have delivered as much or little as you like, I have mine delivered every two weeks, meaning I only pay £7.78 a month, in which I receive 8 individual treats (4 per box) I receive things such as popcorn, brownies, flapjacks, dried fruit and nuts, compotes and chutneys, all of which are reasonably healthy and super tasty!
  • Discount apps- I use Voucher cloud which is free to download on Iphone and offers a range of discounts for great restaurants, there are also lot’s of other similar apps and websites on the market offering discounts and offers.
Leave a Reply

